Home

Wip: Endor

lauser

Pahricida and I have been working on ENDOR maps since roughly OCTOBER.

Coming along there bud. Mine is too. If I manage to fix these bugs I have tonight then I will consider releasing a BETA after a few tests. All the new models in this map are done by me with texture help from my team. I studied the movie for this map and I think it's somewhat accurate. This map has over 450 hours in it now and I have hit the maximum detail limit more than a few times. It's a very large map with tons of dynamic features. I have combined mslafs fearis features with some of my own for this production. I have also used his textures from fearis for the inside of the bunker.

Here are some screenshots:

[/EDIT] I will update this post soon with good screens of a properly lit map. [/EDIT]

Now keep in mind this is a BETA with lightmapscale added to worldspawn for testing purposes. And my ground texture shaders need a little work still but you get the general feel here. I will post screens of the inside later.

Also what you can't see is a virtual sea of bushes covering the ground using Q3map surfaceModel. Some spots you are wading through bush.....it's kind of neat.

One more thing I forgot, our team will be SIEGing this map but it will be released as a FFA/CTF tactical for it's first release.

To those that would like ideas and or models from my map:

I will release every and ALL sourcecode to this map AFTER the final is released.

It has good potential, but the textures on the terrain are eye-demolishingly low-res. They make it look like something from the mid-90s. Also, adding lightmapscale to worldspawn doesn't help much if there's no lighting, right? :p In closing, you'll want to use Easygen or alpha-thingies for terrain, since GenSurf doesn't do the blending thing. That is all. :)