Home

FanArt & Participation

Valkian

Okay I'm going to talk about FanArt more seriously.

I never said I hate fan art, in fact I did lots of things that could be considered fan art as a kid.

I learned to draw by drawing my favorite characters from TV series and comics.

My first novel or short story was just re-writing an existing story from a book and make in the first person (From the point of view of one of the characters).

When I was ten years old I did a series of Mortal Kombat comics (with horrible drawings) inspired by real Mortal Kombat comics and of course by the game from Ed Boon and John Tobias.

So in my opinion fan art (or whatever you want to call it) is a great way for starting yourself in any art form. But that’s it, you can’t copy other artist ideas forever if you want to become an artist.

If someday (soon I hope) I publish a book, I wouldn’t like seeing fan sites doing fan fiction with the characters I created in the worlds and contexts I created. And most of the authors I read don’t like that either.

As I said, fan art and fan fiction are not bad, but it’s like drugs, once you have some it’s hard to quit. And fan art doesn’t add much to art. Art needs creative an original people to come up with their own original and creative concepts.

So I, as an artist, don’t want to encourage something that doesn’t do any good to art. Fan art is not bad, but is not good enough either.

Since the very beginning The Dig Museum had as a philosophy to have only official material. Though there might be slightly exceptions, fan art is not one of them.

I’ve seen one or two guys (and girls) who did some very interesting The Dig art, but they didn’t submit it to our site, I just found it digging around the web.