Home

Chronicles of a President

Hail, everyone! This being my first foray into the CEC as a writer, I hope that I'm able to compete with you prolific composers. Hope you enjoy!

Chronicles of a President

Chapter One

As the defense attorney finished spinning an intricate web, like a spider putting the final touches on a tantalizingly beautiful net of silk, her client, Antonio Salvarez, glared resentfully across the aisle, towards the executive assistant District Attorney, Jacob Litofsky. The man- he could be not considered young, as Litofsky was nearing thirty years of age- sat upright in his chair, paying the attention and respect deserved to his opponent. His dark brown hair and matching eyes studied his adversary eagerly, attempting to discern and chink in her mail, any error in her seemingly flawless closing statement.

To Litofsky, every case was a new match in which to test his abilities; each new case was a chance to see what he was capable of. Turning his ear back to his current opposition, the ADA took careful note of her words, formulating his to-be extemporized closing. “The truth of the matter, ladies and gentlemen of the jury, is that the District Attorney’s office has devolved into one that abuses its governmental power, utilizing cheap and dirty tricks to coerce Mr. Salvarez’s friends and family into testifying against him. Any and all traces of honor have been exterminated by Mr. Litofsky and his leash-holder, the DA.” At this point, the defense attorney drew near to the jury box, leaning closer to the jurors and nearly whispering. “I have serious doubts about the validity of the DA’s claims.” Then, standing up, “And you should, too.”