Home

Variable Question

Mindtwistah

Hay.

I would like to know if it's possible to make variables that you can change the value on at any time, and use them as conditionals.

For example:

You have a ship. This ship has a certain fuel level. For every time you travel, the variable will decrease one value.

So, the starting fuel value is:

global.fuel = 6

I decide to take the ship for a ride to Onderon. The fuel value decreases.

global.fuel = global.fuel - 1

When the fuel value reaches 0

if global.fuel == 0;
return True

you won't be able to fly the ship any further (A [Failure] dialog node will show up, conditional to access this node is the "script" above)

I know these "scripts" won't work. I'm no coder, I just wanted to show you what I meant.

Well, is it possible to create and use these sort of global variables, and if yes, how? What would the script be like to do what I described it would do?

It would actually be pretty simple. Make a global variable in globalcat.2da. Have it be a string and name it something like "lastModuleVisited". Make another variable of type int and have it named "fuelLevel" or whatever. Make another variable of type boolean and name it "canFly". Then add this code to the end of each module's "OnEnter" script EXCEPT the ship's module (otherwise, your fuel level will drop regardless of whether you've traveled or not):

if(GetGlobalString("lastModuleVisited") != GetModuleFileName())//Checks if you've flown to a planet or not.
   {
       SetGlobalNumber("fuelLevel", GetGlobalNumber("fuelLevel") - 1);//Decrements fuel level
       SetGlobalString("lastModuleVisited", GetModuleFileName());//Sets the last module you visited to the current one.
   }
   if(GetGlobalNumber("fuelLevel") == 0)
   {
       SetGlobalBoolean("canFly", FALSE);//Should be checked by a conditional script
   }