Home

Guilds

Gurges-Ahter

I'm new to MMOs, and really have been inherently opposed to them because pay-to-play doesn't work for a (very) casual gamer like myself, and because the most important factor to me in any game is story. I am 100% sold on TOR, however (being a huge KotOR fanboy), and plan to be as active as a participant as I can be while maintaining the rest of my life (work, marriage, 2 kids, etc.).

That being said, I'm somewhat aware of the need for guilds in MMOs. It provides some with some sort of virtual social network, and I'm guessing it can come in handy with some of the missions/quests during a game. I've found a guild through LF that seems to fit well with my plans to play when I can and not expect too much out of me, while adhering to the gameplay/rules that, IMO, keep the game fun.

I know that this can't be fully answered until we know more about TOR's actual gameplay, but I guess my "vector of confusion" comes from how much I will need to interact with a guild to fully enjoy the game vs. how much I can do on my own without the help of a guild, and still experience the full enjoyment the game has to offer. I also know it depends on personal taste. I'd also like to know some more benefits to being involved with a guild, if anyone cares to give his/her opinion. Any help is appreciated!

From a purely gameplay perspective, guilds just make it a lot easier to form groups for the rare group quests and the dungeons, especially groups of people you trust. With a guild of your peers, you don't have to worry about anyone being a jerk and ninjaing an item and leaving the group, or otherwise being a major douche while doing the quest/dungeon. Like riding in a car with your friends versus taking a bus with strangers, there's a much more friendly attitude there.