Home

Questions about modding(noob)

skyhawk469

I have no experience in modding and just recently finished playing through some of the campaigns in Star Wars Empire at War. As fun as the game is, there are some parts I would like to tweak that I think could make it more enjoyable. I am not looking to create my own 3D models, new units, or new maps. I just want to modify certain aspects of the game that are already in place. The following is a list some of the things I would like to learn how to edit:

-edit existing galactic conquest maps... such as re-arranging the connecting routes between the planets, changing the base income of planets, designating the initial controlling factions of the planets, adjusting the starting funds and units for the factions, and changing the associated objectives/events/storyline

-designate when certain heroes can appear in a galactic conquest campaign

-tweak the abilities of a hero... such as change how long it takes for a special ability of a character to recharge after being activated

-edit the characteristics of certain vehicles such as the amount of damage they inflict or receive from certain attacks

Is there a program that I need to do all of this? Are some of the things I mentioned impossible to do? I would appreciate any suggestions or help to point me in the right direction.

First off, you'll need to download the FOC map editor and install it... then look into the "/mods/source/data/xml" folder; you'll find a lot of *.xml files.

You can open *.xml files simply with notepad or DL a program (IMO notepad suffices though)

-For editing existing scenarios, open "campaigns_underworld_gc" and edit it (pretty intuitive)

-for adding GC scenarios and modding hero spawns, see [ulr]http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=174695[/url]

-for modding heroe abilities, I think you'll need to look into the "NamedHeroUnits", "HeroCompanies" and the idividual heroes' (e.g. "Units_Hero_Rebel_Gargantuan") files