Home

FrencH PLayer - Damn french translation-

ben3434

Hi Im a French MI player.

I've been playing that game for many years (since MI 1)

But something really bother me... the translation !!!

When I read what you say in this forum, i realise that they are many things taht are funnier in English than in french !!

French Guybrush Voice sux a lot !! it sounds like a 16 years old teenager !!

I'm sure that original combat hint are cool in english so Id like you to post the best..

I also realised why GuyBrush said "une vierge de fer" That means Iron Maiden !!

HOW CAN FRENCH PEOPLE UNDERSTAND THE PUN

Even characters names have been changed :

I understand that Mr Frometon is funnier than Mr Cheese in french but i think it sucks

In brief, Id like you guys to post the best MI moment (pun, jokes,...and not only EMI)in their original version.

Thx and merry Xmas

Greetings,

I'm a french player too. Of course translation sucks, but they're really making efforts to give us an acceptable one.

Perosnaly i play each game in french, and then in english.

aaaaaaaah what would i do for MO ?

Muad

Bien chers amis,

The question you are raising is a fascinating one. Translating humor, especially of this kind, is probably more difficult than translating poetry from one language to another--which many consider virtually impossible.