Home

helpm me: I am a newbie at editing+modding of games

haplofxp

hello everyone, i am new at modding and i need some serious help :)

can anyone give me some advice please on where i should begin if i wanted to learn how to make mods. I have some expirience in 3d modelling but i want to be able to work with the coding and change basically anything that you can change.

I need tutorials that can help me understand how to write the code needed to make a mod. ie what language are the really heavy engine modifications done in?etc....

Just for an example if i wanted to change the light sabre in jk2 to a dual bladed one and i wanted to change all its moves and stances+damage phisics etc what do i have to go through to get there? (i know at the moment thats not possible because the sdk has not been released yet) i just want to know where to start and from what to learn.

Also is can someone point me to a tutorual on what shaders are and how they are incorporated in the game. I know that a shader is supposed to make it possible for example to make realistic looking hair on a model but thats all i know.

thanks in advance any help will be greatly appresiated.

Basically, I think your question hasn't been answered because we don't have the answers ourselves yet. I can give you a bit of info that is pretty generic.

C or C++ will be the language for moding JKII. C is not a language that you can learn from a few tutorials, you will need books or a course....and some time. Since we don't have the source code yet, we can't help you with where you will need to change the light saber code.

They may release a tutorial with the SDK on some of the basic concepts of moding. At least, outline what you have to do. In the mean time, just sit back and wait with the rest of us....and get yourself a C++ compiler and a book.

That's about as much as can be told...we are all trying to be patient as we sit here in the dark :(

- Vorax