Home

i'm new at this, but here's what i need help on, it's a bot thing...

raijin1999

peole say that pk3 files can be opened with winzip/archivers as such,etc. and so I try it. I can open them, and pull out files. Even changing the extension from pk3 to zip works, until I have to put it back together. When I add the altered files, and then create a new zip and finally, change it to pk3 extension, the file is bigger than it should have been, and the game doesn't detect crap.

*namely the assets0 file, where I want to do this...*

I found in the bots file and in ...I think the models/players file, listings of default multiplayer bot lightsaber colors. I edited the numbers, that were all preset on 0- for the bad bots, and 4- for the good bots, corresponding with red an blue. From this I gathered that 0-red, 1-orange, 2-yellow, 3-green, 4-blue, and 5-purple. I tried reassembling the pk3 file and it went bust.

I'm new at this, so obviously I don't know too much what I'm doing, or if editing the bots lightsaber color is possible, but from what I've seen with other quake engine pc games, it should be. Does anyone here know whats the problem? What I'm not doing/leaving out? it's help quite a bit, as I also need to figure out how to edit the pk3 files in a certain bid for power mod for quake 3 arena.

Thanx - raijin1999

:c3po: "we're doomed!"

OK, it's probably to do with the directory structure. Look at the Emperor skin that's available on the net, it has instructions in it on exactly how to extract, modify and re-pack files from assets pak files using Winzip.

If you can't find this let me know I will try and post a link.

Hope this helps.

:)

I'm such an idiot. The reason the pk3 files dies is cuz I didn't click the always open with this prorgam tab when opening the file via WINRAR. I clicked it and it worked perfectly. I was able to add bots and change the bots saber from blue-good, and red-bad to whatever I thought matched a character, like...

tavion- orange