Home

Bind Question....

twitch_mi

I have been looking through threads for days trying to learn how to do them and found out mostly basic stuff like how to taunt ect. But What I want to know is how to bind moves like swing left and DFA stuff like that, if it’s even possible......

For example:

\bind x +moveleft ; +attack

All that does is make my guy freak out and I have to unbind the key and restart the game to make him stop. If any help, it would be appreciated.

I'm no scripting expert here, but your guy freaking out (twitching and stuff ;)) is most likely due to not cancling the activated actions in the example you've mentioned. The only combo I've tried to bind is DFA when I was starting to play mp and failed, due to not being able to create a sufficient pause/wait - one 'wait' cycle is very short and entering a gazillion subsequent wait cmds doesn't seem to pull it off. Well, luckily one can substitude those scripts with some practice :).

to bind a single 'move left + prim. attack' to a key it should probably look like this:

bind <x> +moveleft;wait;+attack;wait;-moveleft;wait;-attack

Any scripting you do in Q2/Q3 that has a + before the command infers that you're "turning on" the command. If you don't include a - command to "turn off" the command, it will run until it gets one. This can be good for some things - for instance, you can have a walk/run toggle instead of having to hold the key down, if you script it right - but for others, it's not so great. Most +/- commands can be run without the +/- things, but the results can be unpredictable.

would it look something like this if I were to set it up as a variable? (i've never bothered with binding in the past with Q3 engine games, and etc, so this is my first attempt ever, please exscuse me if it looks silly, or is a far fetched idea) but any input would be great.

set deathfromabove "echo ^1DeathFromAbove; +attack; -attack; wait; +upmove; +forward; +attack; -upmove; -forward; -attack"