Home

milkshape solution+question

[OKD]Mangopork

First of all, i am an amateur modeller so far but im getting into the swing of things pretty quickly. So please dont newbie bash me.

Would it be possible to export a model+animations from milkshape into one of its other file formats (say, ascii) and then use another program to export/convert THAT into a format readable by JK2? .:confused:

If so then that would make things a lot easier for us Milkshape 3D users.

Also, in modelling terms of course, what is meant by LOD? What is it and what does it mean? I have heard that 4 LODs' must be made for JK2 so any explanations would be great, thanks.

LOD is short for level of detail.

as for Milkshape file formats... i'm interested in it as well, because i'm modelling with milkshape too.

i think it could be possible, but don't know for sure because i didn't try yet.

Originally posted by [OKD]Mangopork

First of all, i am an amateur modeller so far but im getting into the swing of things pretty quickly. So please dont newbie bash me.

Would it be possible to export a model+animations from milkshape into one of its other file formats (say, ascii) and then use another program to export/convert THAT into a format readable by JK2?

Certainly.

1. Build Model

2. Goto Tools\Quake III Arena\ Generate Control File.

3. Goto File\Export\Quake III Arena MD3.

4. Load up I think md3view and it should let you convert your md3 into .glm, which is the correct JK2 format.

That should be just about it. ;)

Originally posted by L2.0

Certainly.

1. Build Model

2. Goto Tools\Quake III Arena\ Generate Control File.

3. Goto File\Export\Quake III Arena MD3.

4. Load up I think md3view and it should let you convert your md3 into .glm, which is the correct JK2 format.

That should be just about it. ;)

SWEET! Thanks.

Originally posted by VEGETA2K1

but u cant make your own animations.. or even weigh vetrtexes to the bone structure..