Home

Saber Modeling

Lt. John Kheen

Hey People!

Well, i keep on finding so many new custom Saber handles on all the pages for JK2.

Now i'd like to make my own saber model, but I AM A NEWBIE!

My question is:

Could anyone help me and tell me what program i need and how it has to be used? Or where can i get a tutorial for saber-modeling? I have no experience in making 3D models...

I'd be very happy...

Thanks to everybody, who helps!

Lt. John Kheen

well, some people use milkshake (try searching in google), but i use gmax, from http://www.discreet.com, goto Products then select gmax from the drop-down menu. its a 20mb download tho, so get Download Accelorator Plus from http://www.downloads.com if u dont have it. u also need the .md3 export plugins which come with tempest (also a 20mb download - if u dont have the speed download the plugins from my site here). theres also some tutorials for modelling in gmax on the discreet website. once u have got the hang of gmax, make ur model, skinmap it, add the tags, and export it as a .md3 from the Export option on the File menu, and use MD3View (its in the JKII SDK from Raven - if u dont have it gettit!!! its on the JKII.net files section) to open the .md3. save it as a .glm, and look in assets0.pk3 (use WinZip) to find the correct filename and location to put ur model. it will be something like base/models/weapons2/saber/saber.glm, but im not sure (im at skool else i'd check). run JKII, then goto the console (Shift + `) and type "sv_pure 0" (without the quotes) and press resturn. this tells JKII to look in the folders, not just the .pk3s. then, play the game, and enjoy ur saber.