Home

Only when you duck and stand still?

Mero Vilul

Ok, I'm pretty new to this I might add, but I want the weapon I'm changing to only be usable when you are ducking and standing still.

Or maybe that if you're moving, you will stop, and then shoot. If you're crouching too that is.

Well, please help if you want and have the time, or else go have fun :)

I know I can set the projectile speed very easily, but I want the speed to be changed depending on how long you press the fire key... let's say the maximum time to fire is 2 seconds, then it will fire with full speed, but If you just tap and release, it will fire with the minimum speed, and anywhere inbetween with a "minspeed + (% of the 2 second max time the button is held"... for eg min = 10, max = 100... I hold it for 1 sec (50%), It will have the speed 50...

Much to ask for probably, and I guess I have to find it out for my own... or? any hints at all is welcome. values to use and such...

And yes, it will be a mortar kind of weapon.

It took me a while but I think I've figured out how to do this. I say "think" since I haven't tested in a real multiplayer game, only against bots.

There are two problems we need to solve.

Firstly and most obviously we want the server to disallow a player from firing unless he is crouched and stationary. The second problem isn't immediately apparent. When you press the fire button, the client code handily draws the muzzle flash and plays the firing sound for you and then waits for the server to actually tell it where to draw the weapon's projectile. We need to stop this from happening.

The server-side code goes in bg_pmove.c. The function we want to modify is PM_Weapon().

Somewhere near the top of the function there's a block which checks whether the player is in an ATST. After that block we can add the following code (which will work for the Bryar pistol; you can modify it for your new weapon just by changing WP_BRYAR_PISTOL to whatever you choose):