Home

Builing a PC so need to know if it will run SWG

Scazza

Hi guys, newbie here well on this forum and I am from the UK woohoo. lol.

Any way lets get to the point of the post. I am building me self a new pc becuase the one me family have got is literally sh.it.e!! Its a amd duron 900mhz woth 128mb ram and 64mb g card, bollocks and I wanna play game such as SWG's and im gonna import it soon.

So i have come up with a pc and my budget it £450 and i have used it all up on the system i wil be buying in the near future. I am not gonna go in to all the detail about case and mouse i am buying but just the basics like CPU, RAM and Graphics card so here goes:

CPU: AMD Athlon XP2400

RAM: 2x 256mb Crucial Memory

Graphics Card: Now this is where I am having problems, choosing a graphics card, people are telling me no not go for a Geforce FX gof or a Geforce 4 but my budget for the graphics card is £65, so i have chose thisn one: http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/products/index.html?action=c2hvd19wcm9kdWN0X292ZXJ2aWV3&product_uid=48139

if its rubbish then please tell me and suggest a beeter one for under £65.

Cheers Guys.

OK guys, I have put my pc together but not buoght the components yet, just totaling up. So here goes:

CPU: AMD Athlon XP2500

Memory:512mb

Graphics Card: Leadtek WinFast A280 LE TD MyVIVO 128MB Ti4200 8xAGP

They are the main Specs so i am wondering if it will run it nicely?

Cheers

the Ti4200 is a good card, despite its lack of "true" DX9 support. i think you'll be happy with it.

my only recommendation, based on my own experience and what i've heard from others, is go with 2 sticks of 512MB ram (for a total of 1GB). SWG seems to be a memory pig and a half, man. i've heard of people experiencing slowdowns that were eliminated when they threw more ram at their machine.