Home

Question about clans

Thrasonic

Hey all,

I've been playing JK2 for a little while now and am wondering about clans. I think it might be fun to be a member of one but I have a few general questions about them. I have a friend who is a member of a clan for a different game and he spends all of his time doing this stuff. I'm not sure I can commit to something like that. My questions are:

First, do most clans require a certain amount of time each week for "practice"?

Second, do most clans require any kind of annual or monthly dues or something (to help pay for web site registration, upkeep, clan server, etc.)?

Third, are there plenty of clan servers out there that anyone can play on with the members of that server's clan?

I'm new to the concept of clans so be gentle in your responses. If it seems like I'm a newbie to the idea it's because I am. I think it would be cool to be in a clan, but I need to know what I'm getting into before even attempting it. Thanks.

In answer to your questions, it really varies from clan-to-clan.

First, do most clans require a certain amount of time each week for "practice"?
Varies really, I know some clans that practice strategy and skills for up to 2 hours EVERY day, but these are guys who take games seriously and are constantly playing in leagues/ladders etc. Some clans don't even have 'practice' as such and rather just organise a few dates every now and then to just have fun together as a clan.

That's the two extremes really, the casual clan and the ultra-competitive competition level clan, but there are lots of clans that fall in-between. It's all about finding out what is suitable for you, I used to play in a clan that would get together once a week for fun, but now I am in one that *trains* pretty much every day.

Second, do most clans require any kind of annual or monthly dues or something (to help pay for web site registration, upkeep, clan server, etc.)?