Home

Help with jetpack

MDN14

I am still learning alot of the stuff with making mods and hardly know anything really. But I am trying to make a jetpackin my mod that works like the darkt rooper jetpack in Star Wars Battlefront. I know that JA already has a jetpack in it and everything,but I dont want to edit that at all. I want to make a new thing where when the player types "/jetpack" then t puts the jetpack model on the players back and when the player is in the air (just starts jumping) if they press jump again, then it activates the new jetpack. This jetpack should play the effecs like the old normal jetpack does, and the sounds, but it should just "shoot" the player upwards and in the direction they are facing, I want it to shoot them up about 20% higher than a force jump lvl 3 does, and it should only push them forward if the player is holding forward at the time that the justpack was activated, otherwise it just pushes them straight up. But I only want the player to be able to use the jetpack when 1) they have the jetpack on their back, 2) only when they have just started jumping in the air (within 500 miliseconds of starting to jump, so half a second). Making it so they can only activate the jetpack just after they start jumping will be to prevent players from simply using the jetpack to save themselves if they get pushed off aledge and are about to de, because I dont know about you, but I find it highly annoying when people dont die when they should. Anyway, also want to make it so the player cant use the jetpack again for 10 seconds. I found a quake 3 tutorial about making a jetpack, but it kinda justs pushes the player upward while he/she is holding the button. This is what I have for the jetpack right now, but it is still a long way from where I want it to be:

/*

===================

PM_JetpackMove

Use the jetpack.

===================

*/

static void PM_JetpackMove( void ) {

int i;

vec3_t wishvel;

float wishspeed;

vec3_t wishdir;

float scale;