Home

(K1) Lightsaber Mod idea and help request.

GamerX51

I know I haven't been around the forums in a long time, but I have been thinking long and hard about this, and I would like to try my own hand at modding KOTOR! I was thinking of doing a lightsaber mod similar to the USM for K1. (I know T7nowhere was working on one, but then he quit for some strange and unknown reason.) The only problem is, I'm a complete noob when it comes to modding!

I've been using Fred Tetra's KOTOR tool for a while, and I know my way around it pretty well, but I was wondering if any of you modding/modeling geniuses had any tips or suggestions that would make my life easier. If anyone could offer me any advice at all as to how I could best go about making my dream a reality, It would be greatly appreciated.

I have a fully licensed version of 3DS Max and all the proper modeling tools (NWMax, MDlops, etc.) so all I really need is professional advice and some inspiration!

Open up Max and make a model. Start by completing a few of the max tutorials, then when you feel you are comfortable with 3ds max, make something you want to make. If your having trouble getting into the modding mode just set a goal for yourself, like making a lightsaber.

What type of advice are you looking for; advice on how to model a lightsaber, how to get it in game, how to make it upgradeable, what type of lightsabers you should make, how to create a form of story behind each one, etc?

For modelling a lightsaber, you could read the 'A-Z of Modeling a new Lightsaber' thread by T7nowhere.

To get it in game, you could search around or try the following, which should work fine:

Section 1: Get your tools

I'm doing this for KotOR I, but KotOR II would be somewhat similar.

I would suggest the following three files:

Kotor Tool

KGFF

Hex Editor (A free one is located Here)

Section 2: Get your files