Home

''They are no match for droideka''

Ber§erK

Oi all, i'm bit of a newbie here, so if i ask stupid questions, please don't get to worked up, and if you are ever in need of help on modding Homeworld, i'm there :) This mesh kept me busy all night, hope you like what i got so far.

droideka.jpg

Still in progress, and the mesh needs loads of refinement.

Cheers all,

Ber§erK.

Bit of progress, and a larger to pic to bring out the details. i'm thinking of slightly altering the head.

droideka2.jpeg

Would something like this even be possible in JK2 ? And if so, are there any specific guidelines on modelling and texturing i should follow? You will have to excuse my lack of knowledge about JK2 modding :)

edit: changed link to more stable host

hmm very nice. please tell me you have Softimage|XSI.

...you do know that you need xsi... right?

see in order to use assimilate to create a glm model you need an aniamated *.XSI file.

k3po: yeah i have softimage, i have no idea how to use it though, so that will take alot of practice before i can do anything substantial :/

Madjai: yeah i know what you mean, an ep1 TC would be awesome :)

i may do the standard trade fed droid after i finish this one, when it comes to modelling mechanical designs are a big favorite of mine :)

That droid is looking good, but wouldn't it be much easier if you used planar projection mapping to texture it?

The droideka sits around 6000 polys, but before i start cutting polys and lodding, i want to be sure i can get it ingame.

The model is great.

Unfortunatly you are heading into a whole heap o' trouble to put it in the game.

You'll need to create a new skeleton and animations for it. Using the _humanoid.gla seems pretty out of the question unless you want a drunkendeka.

It's too bad cuz your model rocks. Very nice indeed.

If you can't use it for player model maybe you can add it only as a NPC. Try making him static like a turret or something first... then try to animate him.