Home

how to paint skins?

Darkling19

Hi all, i'm new to skinning and i was wondering about a few things.

i know how to zip stuff up properly, what files to edit, how to turn stuff into pk3's and all that stuff.

what i was really wondering about is the paintwork itself, i've opened some of the stuff that needs changing for example the torso of the model, in my case the rodian.

what you get is a complex shape that get's folded around the model with a very very detailed picture of whatever part of the model it goes around, the head of the rodian was filled with blotches, skintones and wrinkles.

to get to the point, how do you change such a detailed image to something complety different?

do you just use your photoshop tools to paint whatever you like on the old skin picture as long as you keep the shapes the same?

or perhaps is the intention to paste photographs or something else into the picture?

cos i have no idea how i'm going to paint something in photoshop that's this detailed and still looks good when that complex shape get's folded around the model and still looks balanced and stuff, please give me a few pointers cos when i look at the stuff sinnet i really wonder how that is made.

well,....

best thing to do is download the tutorial and tools from the JKII website. for skinning, the modview program is very good and usefull as hell (lets u see your skin). The tutorial explains what u need to do for making a pk3 file.

now for the painting part:

first of all u need to unpack a reference model (eg:reborn)as explained in the tutorial

then open any or all image files in your paint proggy

modify whatever u want (try a lot of different stuff, see what it does) ,save it in a new folder with or without different names and thats it....

Also , compare some other skins