Home

JK2 skeleton for gmax

oreo

hi im a complete newbie and i just finihsed couple tuts, but now i have trouble getting a skeleton to work in gmax. i have the MILKSHAPE jk2 skeleton that someone made but somehow when i export and convert etc and finally get it to gmax the skeleton looks completely diff... it only has like a couple of white lines...

anyways in the Tim spacemonkey appleby tut he said he used a skeleton to fit the model to so im wondering how he did it! and where can i get a skeleton that would work for gmax? or is anyone able to convert a skeleton into gmax compatible and then host it pls????

...I'm working late and got your answer. Maybe I'll upload it to jk2.net files for everyone using gmax (only thing anyone needs to make jk2 models). I grabbed the root skele from the stormtrooper folder in the SDK so it should be ok for mp modelling. I'm converting it to native gmax right now. Want to leave me an email addy and I'll shoot it to you the second I finish? That way you get it because you seem to be in most need.

1. There is no GLM exporter for MilkShape, only an importer.

2. You need 3DSM to weight the verticies and all that crap, then export to XSI and use Carcass to make the GLM.

Oh, and exporting to an MD3 then using MD3View to make a GLM only works for static GLMs like saber hilts.

If you don't believe me, just try it.

Originally posted by oreo

or put it to max and save it as XSI ... (there is XSI import/exproter for max)

You could do that, but that defeats the purpose of using Gmax. If you've got 3DSM, just use that, it's nearly identicle to Gmax. The thing that would be good about using Gmax is that it's free.