Home

Bots and my skins

Johvian

Hi everybody!

Sorry if similar topics already exist, but it's a bit hard to find them with the search function disabled :(

Ok, I started to edit JK II last week so I'm a perfect newbie. :)

I made some new multiplayer skins based on the 'Reborn' model, then I decided to write the .jkb and .bot scripts to make my mods available as bots. Lastly I zipped everything in a beautiful .pk3, ran the game and... Yes, now my skins are selectable and can be used correctly by me and bots.

Problems come in Team FFA. It seems bots aren't able to handle my .skin scripts. In fact they have the original Reborn's look (team blue or red).

In other words they don't point to:

\model\players\reborn\model_blue_myskinname.skin
or
\model\players\reborn\model_red_myskinname.skin

but only to

\model\players\reborn\model_blue.skin
or
\model\players\reborn\model_red.skin

Is there a way to get my bots to work in Team FFA with correct skins?

Obviously, without altering 'model_blue.skin' and 'model_red.skin' in any way.

Thanks.

The .skin files must be titled as "model_red.skin" and "model_blue.skin" in order to get the team skins to work in game.

There's only one way to do what you want, and that would be to create new folders for your skins. If you copy the original reborn folder and then delete all the textures you don't need, rename the folder then alter all your text related files to reflect this change,... you should be able to create new skins with team support.

Thanks HapSlash!!!

Now bots in team work fine but my skin is no longer available in the 'Setup Options' menu.

I'm a bit in a puzzle about that...

When I made the skin I copied the whole 'reborn' dir from 'assets0' to 'MyMods' (the directory I'm currently using to work), then I added my new images and made my modifications in order to put everything in a .pk3 with the correct path.