Home

Lightsaber mapping/in-game problems

PalnGipanji

Hi everyone...

This is my first attempt at inserting a custom model into JK2, and I thought I'd start with a saber, since I had one already made. I'm working on a fully CG lightsaber duel animation, and I had a low poly version of my character's (Paln Gipanji) saber hilt, so I got it in-game. The thing is that it worked fine before I attempted to map UVs on it. Once I added a UV set to it, I was never able to put it in-game, because it says that I have 1850 verts. I know for a fact that the actual hilt has around 775 verts, but it has 1850 UVs.

To better help those who can take the time to help me, I will go over my process here to see if there is an incorrect step I'm taking...

STEP 1 - First, I have the model in Maya Binary format, because I know that package the best. I create a UV map for the model using Automatic Mapping. I export the map using Windows->UV Texture Window. The UV map is very clean, but I suppose it's too dense. At this point, the UV map is 1850 UVs.

saber.jpg

STEP 2 - Next, I open the file with Right Hemisphere's Deep Exploration and save it out as a 3ds file. I uncheck Save Lights, Save Cameras, Save Default Camera and "Remove UV scale, offset from materials". At any rate, it saves the file out with material info and preserves the UV map.

STEP 3 - Now I import the file using GMAX. Once I have the model aligned the way I want it and place the tag_flash tag, I export it as an MD3. In GMAX, is says the Vertex count is Editable, and the UVs are 1850.

STEP 4 - I open the saber_w.md3 with MD3Viewer and export it as a glm. It always says it can't find the TGA I have in the skin file, but it may be because I don't have the working directory in the GameData folder. (Should it be?? As an alternative, I have been making a Quake3 Control file with the skin path there. However, since I have been having trouble with UVs, I haven't actually had the skin mapped in-game.)