Home

Graphics Card Help

Kylerichard

Sorry for posting this if it is annoying to anyone.

This is my first time posting (that has nothing to do with my question but anyway)

I have a nvidia riva tnt2 model64/64 pro, I have updated my drivers and all that good stuff but when i go to play swg I get an error message that says somthing like "directx 9 is having problems with your direct 3d, try restarting your computer if that doesnt work your video card may not support dynamic 3d lighting and shading"

Does this mean I have to go out and buy a brand new graphics card or is there someway to fix this?

I have played other games on this computer mostly Real Time Strats like age of mythology, starcraft, warcraft and the like if that helps at all.... thanx:D

SWG is a new breed of game. It is very graphics intensive and you will most likely require a new card.

You can try:

1) Delete the game.

2) Update your drivers....again.

3) Reinstall game.

4) FUllscan game and patch in the launchpad

5) Virus check.

6) Scan disk

7) Full system defrag

If that doesn't fix the issue.....off to the PC store.

Originally posted by Kylerichard

I have a nvidia riva tnt2 model64/64 pro, I have updated my drivers and all that good stuff but when i go to play swg I get an error message that says somthing like "directx 9 is having problems with your direct 3d, try restarting your computer if that doesnt work your video card may not support dynamic 3d lighting and shading"

I had the exact same card (Riva TNT2) in my VPR Matrix PC and it could NOT run SWG. I tried every trick in the book, including all of those suggested by PC experts (back in early July).

After trying all the hint/help from those here and other places, I sent an e-mail to Sony On-line. The nice CSRs at Sony finally replied that the card will not run SWG properly.

In other words, the TNT2 is the best card you can have that will NOT run galaxies. Anything developed after the TNT will work...