Home

The Lost Ones

weiderudare

Haha, found this story off mine on a discette. Might as well start posting it here.

I was 11-12 years when I wrote it, so don't be so mean in your critics. :p

((((((Based on Tribes 2, a online game))))

The Lost Ones

I look around in the dark, small room. The only furniture is two chairs and a table. On the table is my computer, who is recording every sound that’s made in the room. A door slowly opens and a man enters. He is dressed in casual clothes, and he sits down on the other chair, opposite me.

“So…You want to know”, he says slowly, “what happened during The Mission?”

I nod nervously.

He smirks and starts to tell me:

“This day’s, I laugh at the commercial, then one where you saw platoons of Star-Wolf soldiers in lines, all in shiny new blue armor. And that voice: “Star-Wolf needs you! You can change the outcome of the war!”

Of course, most people didn’t believe in that kind off crap, but since my life was about being a soldier, I signed up. Most people who signed up was sent home, especially the ones of the Old Race. The rest off us was tested in many ways and then sent off us.

I hated Ymir the moment I laid my eyes on it. It was the coldest planet I knew off back then. The shuttle let all “newbloods” off and informed us that it was about 30 miles to Ymirbase 5, the base where our training would take place. They had a blinking light on top of the base, wich you could barely see through the constant snowstorms. Some people refused and sent of their emergency rockets right away, a sign that they had given up. The rest off us started to walk towards the base. Many people fell to the ground and with their last strength, tried to reach their emergency rocket. Thirty people off ninety reached the base, fourteen was never found.

I want to spare you all the details about the training on Ymir, but I can tell you that after a couple of months, there wasn’t many newbloods left…