Home

Am I missing something here?

Guest Jaren Dereth

Guest Jaren Dereth

I just recently got X-Wing Alliance, and I'm already having trouble with a mission. I should say first that I'm no newbie gamer. I've played them all, from the original X-Wing/TIE Fighter games to todays space sims such as Freespace 2. I could beat those games with basic effort, but XWA is sure giving me some trouble

The mission I'm having trouble with is the very first one in the first Rebel tour of duty. The first two sections of the mission are easy, but I keep getting creamed in the third. The ships protecting the transport convoy are too much for my puny Y-Wing to take on, mainly because they can fire in any direction. Anyone have any tips on beating this mission?

------------------

"If all the world's children were laid end to end, some would be in the ocean........"

- Anon

This is a Hum-Dinger episode. FYI your wingman is invincible, so use that to your advantage, first of all make sure that he goes into hyperspace before you do.

Now amke sure before you attack the ATRs that you have a full load of torps (it helps against the transports, not the ATRs)

Now make sure your shields are full up. One ATR will go after you, and the other will go after your wingman, target the one going after you. If you start firing at 1.5km and continue after he tunrs you should be able to get his shileds down far enuf where you can take him out with a pair of torps at close range. YOur shileds wil ahve taken quite a beating, but you will now be free to attack the convoy. And your wingman will keep the other ATR off your back.

Guest Wraith 5

Go back to the command ship (can't remeber the name) and rearm. Use your torps on the ships. If you get close enough they should get though

OK K_K beat me, and that is a better way to do it, unless you want to take it out yourself

[This message has been edited by Wraith 5 (edited April 13, 2000).]

Guest garyah99