Home

[NSW-Fic] Nemesis

Sarah Doyle is a Homicide detective with a secret... She spent three years during the Afghan was against the Russians as an assassin. Now her past is catching up with her...

The car slammed to a stop, and Riker gave me that look again. So sue me, I was a better driver than he was. We both knew it. No erase and correct. I had fewer rules when I drove than he did. That's all.

A uniform was outside, and waved us in. The crime had happened in a house, a large ranch style on what had once been the fancy end of town, now sliding into genteel neglect. The outside looked like something out of a ‘60s, sitcom, every plant just so, the grass perfectly trimmed. But from the look of the furniture, they had either just moved in or it was a rental. Nothing brand spanking new, nothing that had that well loved and lived in look.

The first victim was tied to a chair in the kitchen with duct tape, head back as if screaming. The entire back of the head had been blown off and was splattered on the cabinets. But that wasn't what stopped me. I had seen him before, back in a past I thought dead and buried.

I am a great believer in statistics when used correctly. When they passed the Lottery I got sick and tired of people asking me why I wouldn't plunk down a dollar and play. Finally I rounded on one detective who gave me the 'If you don't play, you can't win' line California likes and snapped back;

'Statistically, there is one chance in 50,000 that a modern firearm cartridge will misfire. The odds of two misfiring in sequence are better than your chances of winning the big money. Which do you think I hope happens on the street?’

There is a reason I remembered this. Take a girl from another country, plunk her down in this city. What are the odds that someone she recognized from that country, who himself was from a third country, would meet in this city, both part of the same homicide investigation? I remembered the face, but not the name.