Home

JK2 License and DL legality

WD_ToRMeNt

First off, I condem software pirating and stealing something you haven't paid for.

DISCLAIMER: I'm not a lawyer and I could be horribly wrong lol. In other words, don't do warez.

With this said, dling JK2 might technically be legal if you've pre-paid (not just pre ordered but actually paid).

You see, when you buy a game, the only physical thing that you really own is the plastic of the $0.50 disk the software is burned into. The rest of your money goes to buying the software license, and it's the license that the devs make thier money on.

You can have the software on one computer per license you own. You have the license as long as you can prove that you paid for the game, say with an origional CD, or maybe even recipt. To my knowleadge you're usually allowed to make one backup copy of the software media (the disk) as long as you have a valid license (license = you paid for the game). The way I understand it, it does't matter where you get the software as long as you have paid and have a valid license.

There are other details but I *think* that this would make it technically legal but I could be wrong so DONT DOWNLOAD IT hehe.

Me? Welp, I'm waiting for the game to come out in a couple days but I don't look down on the people who have dled it as long as they have prepaid. As long as they've paid then the dev team gets the money they deserve and they're not really stealing.

I never have downloaded warez, however, if one of you guys downloaded it now and had already paid for your copy and were getting it the day of release, I really do not care if you download it and try it out.

However, people who download stuff and never pay for it, piss me off.

Originally posted by Generique Fin

I never have downloaded warez, however, if one of you guys downloaded it now and had already paid for your copy and were getting it the day of release, I really do not care if you download it and try it out.