Home

I am a newbie, so don't kill me.

The Gibb

I just downloaded the editting tools for JK2, and I have never done this sort of thing before. Anyone have a couple minutes to spare to tell me where to start making a map? I'd appreciate any help, and I am really curious how to do this, but right now its all greek to me. You gotta start somewhere right? Thanks, all.

Later,

Gibb

You could just fiddle around with the program, and ecventually you will get it, but anyways:

Project Settings:

1st of all, go to the 'file' menu at the top, and click on 'Project Settings'. Make sure that all the paths listed in there are correct, if they are incorrect, then change them and click OK when your done, and restart the program.

Creating a simple brush:

To make a brush (A solid wall, floor, celing, etc..), right-click and drag the mouse across the screen.

Texturing your brush:

go to the 'textures' menu at the top, and select the set of textures you want to use (there should be a long list of texture paths if you set it up the project settings correctly). Wait for it to load all the textures, and when its done, they should all appear in the lower- right corner of the screen. If your brush is not selected, then re-select it by holding SHIFT and left-clicking the brush. Once it's selected, select the texture you want to put on it and it should automatically appear on the brush.

3d view:

At the upper-right portion of the screen is a 3d view of your map.

Move up= D

Move Down = C

Foreward= up arrow

backward= down arrow

Turn left= left arrow

Turn right= right arrow

turn up= A

turn down= Z

Straf left= <

Straf right= >

You'll get used to all the keys eventually, but thats how you move in the 3d view.

Texturing a single surface (A face) of a brush: