Home

Multiplayer Blows!

Uranium - 235

I know I'm going to get a lot of flak for this but here's my two cents.

I played the single player. I loved the action of running around enemies with lightsabers, guessing their moves, countering, defending, and attacking. So I'm thinking: Multiplayer should be something like this... but a bit different of course.

So I go into a team FFA server. Instantly I see people flipping through the air with rocket launchers blasting players to their delight. I think: Okay... force push sends rockets right back at them. Then I realize with a 16 player game on a DSL I won't have time to use the 'push' because it's so damn laggy. I'm a Tribes 2 vet, and those games are somethimes 64 players large.

I finally do 'push' a rocket at a guy standing still. The rocket goes off in a random direction. Some time later a guy sprays laser fire at me and I reflect the bolts in entirely random directions (I had level 3 in defense and level 3 in push).

Then I run down into the basement and I see a guy has about 500 trip mines all over the place. So there's a no-no for poor map design: Trip mines respawn in a little room.

Then I whip out my sniper rifle and give it a try. Every shot (Naturally) fires one second after I let go of the trigger.

Once I get into a sabre fight it was the most rediculous thing ever. The match seemed to be about who could 'push' and 'pull' each other the fastest. The enemy uses 'Mind Trick' on me. So I counter with 'Sight' and alas I have sight but my force bar doesn't recharge! Why should I be disabled to counter an enemy attack! He's winning no matter what I do!

So the fight goes on with us swinging wildly. Then he's about 20 feet away, I kid you not, and I hear the sizzle of a lightsaber and I fall over dead. He runs away and it says he killed me. WHAT A LOAD OF CRAP!