Home

WIP: Battle Droid

Prophet

I know theres been a fair few of these made at some point, but so far there's none been finished. So here is my first new player model. I started this back before the tools came out, but gave up due to exams. I've since started on it again, and its now modelled, mapped, segmented and capped.

The shot on the right is slightly out of date now, but it gives a better idea of the way the droid looks when standing :)

http://www.btinternet.com/~browngreen/bdpreview2.jpg

I've been following spacemonkey's tutorial on getting the skeleton imported, but I'm pretty confused with which tags I'm meant to use, and which I have to delete (if any). I have no experience with the use of bones or weighting either (all my previous work was just stationary models), so if anyone is willing to help me get this thing in game it'd be much apprecaited. I've started to draw up some skins, but if anyone else wants to try it out I'll happily send you the maps/mesh.

EDIT: So you don'ty have to scroll through all the bumps, heres the textured model so far (still WIP)

http://www.btinternet.com/~browngreen/bdpreview3.jpg

EDIT AGAIN: It's almost done, just needs tagging and weighting. Unfortunatly I can't get these to work for some reason.

As for skins, it's going to have seven - infantry, pilot, security and command, as well as the orange-pink geonosis droids. It also has an all red battle droid and an all blue droid for CTF. I'll post pics soon.

EDIT YET AGAIN: An update with pics! Here's the various skins I will be including. Mostly done, though I'll probably still modify them.

CTF colours

Click for image

Geonosis Droid. I'm not sure how accurate the colours are, but they seem pretty close to the one in my book.

Click for image