Home

Loading .net on Linux

MasterSidious

I'm a complete Linux noob because I just got my Linux system to work. All I want to know is how you can load .net (C++ 7.0) on a Linux computer. I've seen the setup.exe on the disk but I don't know how to run it or what program to use. Could someone tell me how to run the setup.exe and instal .net.

Thanks in advance.

I know people are seeing this. Can anyone tell me how I can run .exe files (Windows executables) on my Linux system? I know you can do this because I've heard of people making .so files for their mods using Trimbo's Universal sdk on a Linux system.

Please respond.

Since no one listens to me, I tried something myself.

1.I installed "Wine" on my Linux system.

2.I clicked on my "setup.exe" located on disk 1 of C++ Visual 7.0

3. Under the "Run with" I typed "wine" and hit ENTER.

Then a dialog box appeared that said something like "Visual C++ 7.0 cannot be installed because it needs Microsoft Windows 95... Please install and rerun setup."

Can someone out there tell me how to fix this problem and get .net on my Linux system?

Thanks!

Yep, that's the compiler that Raven was supposed to have used for the Linux compiles.

Untarring can usually be done with zip file program.

I think it was way easier to compile and debug in .dll form. They were in a hurry so they didn't spend the time to port it into .qvm files.

Forget about MSVC on Linux. You only need a text editor (e.g. Emacs or vi), "make" and "gcc", all of which you should already have.

Use the tar command line application to untar, type man tar to get help.

There are probably GUI tools you could use to do this too, depending on what desktop you use.

Compile using the make command (man make). Using the makefile you have from Trimbo's SDK, make will use the gcc compiler, which you should already have.