Home

Animation & placement help [K1]

Papership

Scripting, animations & placement help [K1]

((Some waffle – sorry – it just seemed rude not to say hello!))

Hello! As you can see, I am indeed a lurker. Not that I don’t want to share my new-found enthusiasm for Kotor modding (indeed I’ve been dying to greet you awesome people). It’s just that so far whenever I’ve had a question, I’ve found the answers already here (so well done, you). And I can’t post answers to other people’s questions, because I’ve only been into this for 4 days (ergo I know 0). So sadly I’ve had no excuse to post anything, until now.

((The questions bit!))

I am (you’ve guessed it) creating a mod. Being a total newbie, I kept it simple... until I read through all your super walkthroughs and tutorials. Not so simple now >:). Anyway I’ve got my locations, npcs, dialogs, variables, super plot and a few jokes to boot. All good! I do however need some help with one thing (no doubt more things later).

I haven’t found anywhere on this site a ‘dummies guide to animation’. I understand that only the existing animations are available. But I need some questions answered;

+ Can I put npcs ONTO objects? For example stand someone on a table? I’ve had a play with my xyz’s, and from what I’ve seen, ‘z’ doesn’t seem to do anything. Can’t get their feet off the ground. And If you tell something to spawn where an object is, it will spawn close, but not in/on. So, err…yeah. Can you put stuff on things?

+ Can you freeze animations? For example, if I script a toon to wave, can I freeze them with their hand in the air and just leave it there while the action continues?