Home

[K1] Custom planet galaxy map problem

JediMaster76

Alright. So I've been following TK's tutorial, and its been working great. I have the .mdl/.mdx files renamed and hex-edited, the two new TGAs (the little planet icon and the larger one). I have also edited the k_inc_ebonhawk.nss and the k_pebo_galaxymap files in accordance to the tutorial.

So I dump these files into my override and start up KoTOR, and enter the Ebon Hawk and go the the Galaxy Map. I click it, and my custom planet's little avatar displays. However, when I press on it, the whole game freezes, and it crashes (as in, "This program has experienced a problem and needs to close" type of crash).

I was wondering how to prevent this crashing so I can actually go to my custom planet. While I am asking this, I might as well through in another question; how can I prevent my planet from showing up until I reach a certain point in a global boolean/journal/conditional?

I'm not very good at KotOR scripting (neither am I at TSL, but that's beside the point) but have you chucked planetary.2da into the Override as well? If not, that could be the problem. ;)

As to your other question, this is what I would write for the script

~snip

if (GetGlobalNumber("your_global") == number) {
	SetPlanetAvailable(13, TRUE);
	SetPlanetSelectable(13, TRUE);
                                                   }
else {
	SetPlanetSelectable(13, FALSE);
        }

Replace "your_global" with the Global Number you have used, and number with the number that you have set the global. And replace 13 with whatever corresponding Live Planet your planet is.

Again, I am not very good at scripting, so don't be surprised if this doesn't work. :(

Likely the problem is that you didn't compile some or any of the scripts included with your modified k_inc_ebonhawk.nss.

You have to make your changes to the script and add it in the Override IIRC, though it could be the Compiler directory.