Home

Games Graphics

gavinpape

Hey all.

I'm new to the board and this site infact.

I'm a 16 year old student from Huddersfield

I've been a fan of the Monkey Island games for as long as I can remember.. I used tio love wacthing my parents play them on the Amiga when i was a kid.

I currently own MI 3 and MI4 for PC which are great.. Seen as we got rid of the Amiga I'm after MI1 and 2 aswell for PC.. I know you can get them in a box set of the 3 games.. but I already have the 3rd one.. suppose i might aswell though.

Just one thing that puzzles me.

Why change the game graphics.. I mean the graphics obvioulsy get better.. But MI1 and 2 looked realisitic... now they're cartoon graphics.. I don't think Monkey sland suits the cartoon look myself.

what do you all think

I personally like the look in CMI. The backgrounds *are* cartoony, but they aren't too cartoony - they have a lot of detail and such. The characters are pretty damn cartoony, and I would think they would have looked better with at least some basic shading on them, but all-in-all I was satisfied with the look of CMI.

EMI was a different matter, though. They basically used 3d graphics in a cartoony style, and it just doesn't suit the series in my opinion. It looks too plastic-like, and lacks the depth of a good, hand-drawn background. The characters were terrible too, designed to look cartoony (flat colour textures) yet with unimpressive shading. Ehhhhhh.

I think if they'd have had the means to do so, they would have made MI1 and 2 have a more cartoony look. It would have looked damn good, too.

Don't think that I disagree with MI taking a more realistic turn with graphics though. In the MI5 forum I stated that I'd love to see a style the same as that seen in this very forum's banner - it captures the feel of Monkey Island beautifully. Of course, to do that it'd probably require reverting to 2D, and I can't see that happening unfortunately.