Home

what programs do i use for creating new skins and wepons?

bm20950

Depends. Do you want to change or make new skins of characters/weapons or change their structure?

I have little experience in either.

For texturing, use a program like photoshop or paintshop pro. Look in your assets0 folder for the "skins" folder(I think) and copy the file you want to base it on, say, a reborn(good for a lot, many uses for a generic guy in a hood:)). Rename it and paste it back into the skins folder and open it. Edit the .skin files as you like, including the icon. This is what's shown on the skin selection and the leaderboard in MP. I think that will give you a new skin.

For the structure, you need a new model, which requires milkshape or Gmax (I think that's the name). Unfortunately, I don't know the URL to download it from, but search the forums or the web for milkshape. I find it very difficult to use and haven't found a tutorial for it yet.

One more thing. Since this is your first post, I won't blame you, but for future reference so that incorrectly placed threads are less frequent, this belongs under "general editing".

Ok

the worlds best skin software with out a doubt is Adobe Photoshop, paint shop pro has nothing on Photoshop. NOTHING!

Get Photoshop and do a search for Photoshop tutorials on your fav search engine. You will get thousands of results no question of course Photoshop comes with help files and tutorials. It’s the industry standard and no one has built a better graphics package.

I have been using Photoshop since 1996 it was Photoshop 3 back then I have used psp (paint shop pro but it doesn’t even scratch the surface compared to Photoshop)

As one of my Graphic design teaches said "You could change one thing in your design such as layer opacity, layer mode, apply a filter or color change in the end have an entirely new image. There are a million and one things to learn and after that the combinations are infinite.” So you decide.