Home

Start

PureApplejuice

How did you guys start modelling? I mean I've read some tutorials by now and got some tips by other modellers but I truly don't get it. Did you just learn by doing? I mean you also had to start somewhere, didn't you? Did you manage that alone? If not then please help me to help myself (heard that somewhere before).

Hello and welcome,

I have just finished my first model for JK2, check out showcase forum Hindy's Legolas.

With regards to starting modeling a brought Paul Steed's book read loads of web tutorials and just went for it literally. I have learnt s much as I have gone along and now feel comfortable within 3DS Max.

If I had any problems or just burning questions I would post Q's here where they are normally quickly answered.

If you want specific tuts for a specific program ask and you will get links

Well i started playing around in 3D max a while back but i didnt create anything useful until i found the right tutorials on the net.

I learned a couple of techniques (about 5) along the way, which are very useful depending on the kind of object i need to create: but my favorite is poly modelling by far.

Learning UVW mapping is also a must.