Home

editing the combat system

shaowei

Hi,

I do not know Radiant, Q3 and I am not a programmer (work in marketing). On my free time I like to play games and I am interested in how to make better melee FPSes. Here is my newbish question then:)

>

To change lighsaber combat aspects like it is done in Promod (actually, more radical stuff), what resources and knowledge would I need?

>

I am not interested in mapping (environments) that much, more in editing things like how moves are initiated and how blocking and striking acts.

For example, to add more hitboxes to the character model (head, torso, legs etc), do I need to learn C++ or smth?

I need direction badly:) Please help me out.

Thanks for your reply! Yes, I would like to play a new game, and I sincerely doubt they are going to make one that matches my expectations:)

I looked around the web yesterday and yes, I am gonna need C, and after that there are tutorials on Q3 modding. Maybe that won't be enough to make things like adding hitboxes, but I will definitely know where to turn to after that.

hello world:)

JO doesn't use hitboxes. Well, at least it does in SP, MP may be different. But you should be able to take advantage of the GHOUL2 system to put surface collision back in (razorace did this for some mod, dunno if he finished), and JO already has support for locational damage.

Emon,

thanks for clarifying. How does blocking work (conceptually) in JO? Being an amateur I thought it had to be a hitbox with special properties (when lightsaber enters the "blocking hitbox", a blocking animation is played and damage nulified). Now that you say there are no hitboxes I don't know:)

Originally posted by gedassan

Emon,