Home

Orthopedic Surgery

Boba Rhett

Hello my swampmates. :) Pretty weird request but here it goes. ;)I have some questions about orthopedic surgery and was hoping there was someone here who has delt with it, knows something about it or at least knows where I can find info on it. I've googled a lot but most places seem to just spit up the same info and not much of it.

I'd like to know what kind of costs are involved with the excision of bone. I've heard such surgeries are among the highest. Is this true? Does anyone know some good places where I could find info on osteochondroma? I'd really like to know what kind of post-op recovery time there is in the removal of one. My thanks and eight free elves goes to anyone who can help. :rhett:

well rhettski. I am a physical therapist by day :D I have spent many years in a rehab hospital treating ppl after orthopaedic surgery.

as far as costs go, you being in the US, I couldn treally say. We have a public health system here thats pretty good, as long as you can wait a little while for elective surgery. I can imagine it wouldnt be cheap tho :(

the best person to speak to however, isnt the predominate teens that fill the swamp, but an orthopaedic surgeon. Your GP should be able to recommend some good ones in your area.

here's some good general info.

http://www.emedicine.com/orthoped/topic528.htm

how big is your lesion...... my cousin had a largish one below his wrist, and many jokes were made about how he got it, but I wont do that here of course :D

as far as post op recovery, its not too bad. Some good painkillers initially, and some time off for healing. It all really depends on what you do for work that will alter if you can return to work. My cousin is a plumber so he wasnt able to get back to what he was doing for about 4 weeks IIRC....

good luck !

mtfbwya