Home

How to make Jedi/Sith Holocrons ?

lord_yig

There may already have been a question like this but i can't find it with the search features. So i ask...

Beeing a complete noob in scripting, how could i make a holocron to work as it should work...

I want to make it an activable object that through some dialogue options can make the PC, or any NPC in his party who already is a jedi, to learn some force power he don't already knew.

I was thinking about giving one or two force power (all three levels of each) for a single holocron and to make several of them...

But it would certainly need some good scripting skill and some dialogue editing too... And for a holocron to work really correctly with some past jedi's hologram to be shawn i prefer not to think about this for the time beeing, we'll see if the basic works first... (but it would be cool no ?)

If one of the pro roaming here can give some advices it would be greatly appriciated before i try to plundge myself into the scripting tutorials (and the madness that comes with it :D )

Originally posted by lord_yig

I want to make it an activable object that through some dialogue options can make the PC, or any NPC in his party who already is a jedi, to learn some force power he don't already knew.

Do you want it to be a placeable object, meaning that it just sits somewhere in one place and player can interact with like with container... or you want it to be an item that player can acquire and then use from the inventory?

That's exactly how i'd like it to work. But i don't know much about scripting... I'll have to learn...:rolleyes:

Hmm, that'll be more work, though the scripting part of that isn't that hard.

1. You need to make item template for you holocron, an UTI file. It must be a usable object that runs spell onuse.

2. You need to modify spells.2da and create unique force power (aka spell). The force power is basically a fake as it's only needed to run a script.