Home

Mapping skins

MeleeMaster

I'm a noob when it comes to this stuff and I can't really skin, but if I use a pre-made skin for a certain model and then try and use it on a different model, it comes up wrong and messed up. I know its probably because the skin is not mapped for that model. I already looked at this thread http://lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=118385 and I have Gmax and all. But I have a few basic questions, is doing a UVW Unwrap another term for mapping a skin to a model? And do you use a different process to remap a pre-mapped model? I heard that when it comes to Q3 type games your suppose to use 3DsMax and you can only use GMax for weapon modeling. Because the things is the premade models are in .glm format. Is there a way to convert them to .md3?

Sorry for the huge un-organized paragraph. I was just typing things as they popped into my head.

Yes unwrapping is another term for UV mapping or skin mapping. Unfortunately you cannot re-do the UV's without 3D studio max because you will have to redo the rigging process, or else your model will be useless...importing the .glm destroys the hierarchy and skin weights (aka the rig).

Thx, right now I'm using Milkshape and making small changes, its really nice because I'm not making anything from scratch (I don't know how to) but I'm just moving things around. But I have a problem, whenever I export the model back to the .glm format to overwrite the old one it shows up in game floating in midair as it was when I looked at the model in Milkshape. I would be using Gmax but I'm having trouble finding the plugins for the .glm and .md3 format.

Like i said, you have to RIG the mesh before its a valid (and moving) .glm player model ;). Last i heard milkshape didnt have the proper tools to rig a player model for JA. Dont think Gmax has support either, only for weapons and static meshes.