Home

Immunities to Damage Types Or Effects? (Enemies)

Al_Ciao

(I'm new to SWTOR, so bear with me, please.) :)

I've read some articles detailing types of damage (elemental, energy, kinetic, internal), saying that internal and elemental damage completely bypass armor.

1. So what I'm wondering is, why doesn't every single player (at least those who spec DPS) go for internal- and elemental-damage powers? Are there enemies with immunities to certain types of damage? (For instance, is "internal damage" non-applicable to droids?)

2. My secondary question is this: When it comes to effects, such as stun and immobilizing, are any enemies immune to these? Looking at some of the powers available for some classes, some powers specifically say they only stun standard/weak enemies (therefore not strong, elite, or champions), but others merely say stun. Would that mean this latter type will stun any enemy in the game?

Please note, I'm primarily asking about PvE, though any thoughts on PvP aspects are welcome too. Thanks! ^-^

I don't really know much about the types of damage myself, but I've looked into it for my DPS Mercenary in the past, so from what I've read, one aspect of choosing your type is depended on the skills you use. If you have a rotation with a couple of skills that do a certain type of damage, it makes sense to go look for items with that particular damage type boost. Also, a quick info check on these types, it's internal and kinetic damage that penetrate armor, not elemental. By the way, internal damage works on droids too, I think. At least my DoT Gunslinger had no problems applying internal damage on droids.

On your second question: there are stuns that work on elites and champions, yes. Most won't, but there are some. My Jedi Guardian tank has a stun that both raises threat and can stun even champions, yes. But, depending on the (advanced) class and skill tree, be restricted to probably maximum one.