Home

Does anyone else think that the weapons in JO look alot like the ones in DF1?

Silent_Thunder

:ewok: Maybe this is too small a detial but...

I was just watching the trailer agian for the 4th time and I noticed how the the bryar pistol seemed, and IMO, it looked exactly like the old Dark Forces bryar pistol. Also, the firing rate and the shape of the laser projectile was almost identical.

Also, the storm trooper rifle had the same shape, with the scope on the top that the one in Dark Forces had, and the JK one did not.

Am I just imagining things agian, or did someone else notice this?

I sure hope the rest of the guns have the same old Dark Forces feel :).

:ewok:

I think that the only reason the weapons were so different in JK is that they switched from sprites to....whatever the 3d equivalent is, I'm not a graphic artist. Did anyone else notice that the stormtrooper rifle in JK looked like a painted cardboard box? No offense to JK, that was all they could do, but I really like the DF/JO design of the ST rifle.

Guest Krayt Tion

To answer the original question: yep.

Maybe they listened to Vagabond way back in the beginning: ;)

Specifically, the game guns didn't have that same lethal look to them. Whereas the movie weapons, modeled on actual military hardware, were typically black, occasionally with chrome or wood highlighting, and had that authentic look to them that made you believe they were real. Conversely, the game guns were typically gray, often highlighted with yellow, red, gold, or brown. They felt like non-Star Wars toy guns, to me.

JO would be a truely great game if it uses all the best things from Dark Forces, from Jedi Knight, and from MotS.

Authentic looking guns and interactive music from Dark Forces, huge imaginative levels from JK/MotS and finally Saber throw AND Force push from MotS. Something else I forgot? :)

I definately like the JO weapon models better than the JK ones. The StRifle model in JK was sub-par. The DF one the better.