Home

Using Strong Style?

Darth Vader 10

Hey guys, it's my first time posting here. Hope I can learn dueling stuff from you great guys out there ;)

I'm just like many of you, an anti-backstabber. I'm usually on the Dark side of the Force but I'm trying to learn to side with the Light, just like Kyle. I'm a Singaporean and I frequent the local dueling servers with Force disabled. Any other Singaporeans here?

Alright, enough of the crap introduction... :D

I use the Strong lightsaber style. I try to get my attack ready and close in to my opponent. However, as soon as the lightsabers clash, I roll away to avoid getting hit. Some people say I'm being coward, but I just don't know what else to do after I landed my hit. It's sort of weird to stand there recovering and risk getting hit. Hence, I need you people's advice on what I should do. Should I change my dueling style or just continue with it?

IMO there is nothing wrong with your tactic. The first rule in saber fighting is "Don't get hit.", so there ya go. :D

When using strong style, you give your opponent enough possibilities to hit you already with every swing, since you always need some windup time. So there is no need for your opponents to complain.

However, there is not really a need to roll away after each and every hit. Also it depends on what is "away". If you roll once, thats okay, if you roll twice or three times after each hit, this may get annoying to the other one because it takes more time.

But I still wouldn't complain about that or call you a coward because there are ways to take advantage of your behaviour :D

So keep it up... :thumbsup:

Originally posted by Bluezman

However, there is not really a need to roll away after each and every hit.

Hmm... Why not? As a Strong style user, I find that it's very risky to stay near an opponent especially if he's a Light or Medium user. They can do almost instant hits, unlike Strong users whom have to stall for some time...