Home

Servers, Pings and damn lag!

BawBag

I'm pretty new to this internet multiplayer, but is dueling over the net a test of skill, or a show of how fast your connection is? Unfortunately, I only have a bog-standard 56k, so my skills are really poor when in a duel. Sometimes my ping reaches up to 999 on some servers, and then I can't move, or sometimes i'm lagging so bad, I always get caught with the strong style special move. (anyone who's had the dissatisfaction of fighting me will testify)

I do realise it's no use complaining until I get a better connection, but can anyone do any of the following:

1. Point me in the direction of any good servers.

2. Recommend any downloads that may help. (how I don't know but it's worth a go)

3. Answer the question at the start of this thread.

Much appreciated. ;)

• Replies 52
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi BawBag

I had trouble the opposite way to your self. I had cable con and on some servers a ping of 40... but I was still being owned, until a friend of mine gave me his old PC (what was more than twice a fast as my PC) and all of a sudden I was playing a lot better :)

1. Point me in the direction of any good servers.

you should be able to see ping times of the servers in the list!!

2. Recommend any downloads that may help. (how I don't know but it's worth a go) sorry don't know of any downloads that can help

3. Answer the question at the start of this thread.

I do realise it's no use complaining until I get a better connection

do it :) get Cable or what ever the best con you can for your location :)

I have a 56k modem as well, and found it all depends on time and place. Once I was on a massive FFA server and everything ran smoothly, as if I was on my own computer, playing with bots. You need a fast server which is relatively close (same state), and the good luck that not many people are using the phone lines in your district when you are. If these two combine, you will get a relatively good connection!