Home

"Son Of Monkey Island" - yet another stupid MI5 idea...

Before I start, I would like to say that yes, I'm a newbie to this forum. Whoop-de-doo. I have some opinions about the series (the largest of them being that CMI and EMI are nothing more than Fangames - SoMI and MI2 are the only true games in the series, IMHO) and I'm a human, or a close approximation, so don't jump on my case if I get the facts slightly wrong because although I've been playing the games since the first one was released on the Amiga (wanting to play the game was the motivation behind me learning to read) I am pretty much a newcomer to the MI Community. So cut me some slack if I am ignorant of certain things.

Here's my idea for a sequel - Son of Monkey Island (the title is pantslame, yes). set quite a few years after MI4, Guybrush is an Old Man. He and Elaine had kids who now have kids of their own, but their marriage didn't quite work out and Guybrush and Elaine are divorced. Doesn't mean that Guybrush doesn't still love Elaine, though...

Guybrush's grandson, who we will call Bob until I can think of a better name, is about 17 and has heard all of Guybrush's tales. Everything - mighty triumph over the Ghost Pirate LeChuck, his thwarting of the Zombie Pirate LeChuck, and his victory over the Demon Pirate LeChuck (with some Big Whoop thrown in for Good Measure). The Age of Pirates is long over but some are still about. Bob decides he will seek out these Pirates and try to become one, just like Grandpa Guybrush.