Home

Taking screenshots in CMI

Tahnee

Mmkay...bear with me, as I am a total Windows Newbie™ who finds Windows 98 rather threatening. :rolleyes:@self

Anyway...I bought an old PC laptop to play CMI, living in an all-Mac household as I do, and now I want to take a few screenshots to make LiveJournal icons out of 'em, but I can't get the darn thing to work! I know about the "Print Screen" and "Alt + Print Screen" options, and I know those keys work as I can take screen captures of things like my desktop. But the thing is, when I try it in CMI, the result always shows as a big empty blackness. Not quite what I was going for.

I asked someone who's actually Windows-savvy (unlike yours truly), and he said something about sprites or...er...something? Is there some program I have to use or a special key combination that involves using all my fingers and toes?

(Yeah...I'm a total newbie, I know...)

Simple printscreen wont work for DirectX/DirectDraw programs. An easy way is to run it in ScummVM and then use printscreen (or alt+printscreen to capture the active window). The other option is to use a screen capture that can capture directx/directdraw screens. Search on google for Hypersnap DX or Snagit.

• 2 weeks later...

Poopers. I just find it hard to fantom an all Mac household, having grown up with DOS.

My question is how did you become an Mi fan with only Macs?:confused:

(amusing Reaper moment: Girl attempting to install games that require more memory then the 1995 aunt's old laptop can hold):compcry:

Originally posted by Reaper Girl

My question is how did you become an Mi fan with only Macs?:confused:

EMI was ported to the Mac by Aspyr way back in 2000-ish, and caused a rather large stir in the Mac gaming community...basically, every reviewer who played it couldn't stop raving about it. I decided to see what all the fuss was about. :)