Home

Skipping Land Combat

Durnaug

Hi,

I was a fan of the early Star Wars strategy game "Supremacy" and despite it's awful interface I loved the gameplay.

I bought Empire at War relishing the thought of playing a similar game but with much improved interaction and graphics. However, several things about the game I don't understand:

1. Can I skip the land combat sequences? I'm just not interested in RTS tactical land combat - I have C&C for that. I know about auto resolve but that seems to skip all tactical combat, including the space battles.

2. What is the Empire galactic campaign start scenario? I'm presented with several scenarios but I'm not sure which one is the actual "beginning" of the game?

3. Why doesn't Darth Vader appear on the Empire at War scenario?

I'm a complete noob to this game and I WANT to like it but currently the land combat leaves me cold and I need to have it auto resolved somehow without losing control of the space battles. The land maps look brilliant but I'm just not interested in that aspect.

kind regards

D.

Yes you can. In the XML's, there is a file called 'planets'. All you do is edit it with an XML editor. For the planet Sullust, there is a line that says something like 'ground=no'. Just search for it, its easy to find. Anyway just copy and paste that (use the auto replace feature) into the info for every planet.

...That's the solution if you want to mod your copy of the game. If you want to play with "vanilla" (out of the box) Empire at War, then you can just have it always ask you whether you want to auto-resolve combat, and just push the auto-resolve button when you are presented with any ground battles.