Home

NPCs won't appear in custom built module

Qui-Gon Glenn

Well, I suppose if I'm ever going to get a mod made, I have to finally get down to the nuts and bolts of things. And, I have to accept that I'm still a giant noob, even after years of lurking and tinkering. :)

My problem is this... I have followed both DoomDealer's custom module building tutorial, and GSCCC's storyline mod tutorial, and have been stuck at the same point through both tut's.

I have followed just now step-by-step DoomDealer's tut and worked my way through using newer tools to get his demo module built. I successfully extracted all resources it called for, edited the .git with KGFF removing the prescribed structs and adding in the new struct for n_selkath99. (Yes, I did the creature edit also with KT before saving the n_selkath99.utc)

I successfully compiled attack.ncs, wrote the dialog (tricky following the tut there... thanks Pavlos for your tut, which combined with the old got me thru), thought everything was ready to rock. Built my erf with KT with all 13 necessary files, built the .mod, copied it into my module folder and crossed my fingers. Started a game up, loaded a save (would the save I chose have anything to do with success/failure here?) from mid-way thru a normal game, and warped into doomdealer.mod. As has happened in two previous instances with this, and with tinkering around on my own to no avail.... no NPC. Warped into an empty room. The ambient sounds worked though :D

If anyone can help me with this, I would really appreciate it. I will be glad to provide more specific information if I can!

EDIT: I will also gladly learn from old threads that deal with this.... through searching I was unable to find more regarding this.

The same thing happened to me then i followed that tut.

Maybe theres something wrong in the instructions?