Home

Student Project: CG short based on MI (early early planning stages)

HailMurray

Hi everyone, new here (grrr... I didn't noticed the 'y' was cut off of my username until now. I was supposed to be 'HailMurray'!)

So I'm an art student and for a class project I'm planning to create a short animated film based on Guybrush and Murray of Monkey Island fame. Yes it will be 3D, but I want it to look more like the CMI style as opposed to the blocky 3D of EMI.

It'll be a pretty short scene and is basically an older Guybrush and Murray going about their morning. So far I've only modeled Murray (although not 'cartoony' enough) and am still working on the old Guybrush model.

Here's a couple of visuals so far:

Old Guybrush

gb.jpg

Murray model

m1.jpg

Quick 'n dirty temp scene

mscene.jpg

I'm open for suggestions and feel free to tell me if it sucks (but please tell me how it could be improved). Like I said this is still very early... but I just want to keep it a simple scene with Old Guybrush and Murray interacting as they do common morning things in Guybrush's dumpy trailer-esque houseboat.

I like your drawing of the older Guybrush - nice additions with the peg-leg and hook. I only hope LucasArts don't decide that this is infringing on their copyright, because I'd really like to see the finished product :)

(I wonder if Dom would provide voices...)

Wow, I didn't expect such quick replies!

Thanks for the Blood Island link Alien426! I've never seen those before, but they're simply awesome! I don't htink my finished product will be THAT good though. :D