Home

Need advice on car audio

RpTheHotrod

I'm not experienced in car audio, but I'd like to get a new system. Factory standard ones are just not cutting it.

I'm not exactly looking to be winning any car audio contests and setting off car alarms...I'm after good quality sound with some really good bass (I listen to a wide variety of music, but mostly 80s, techno, and trance).

I have a 2008 Ford Focus SE which have 4 6x8s and one 10 inch sub.

The rear two speakers point upwards towards the front.

From what I've been told, I should get two low-mid speakers for the front, 2 mid-high speakers for the back, and a solid sub woofer in the back.

Someone suggested Polkaudio DB691 for the front, Infinity 9633CF for the back, and a good sub is in the air atm.

Any suggestions and/or confirmations?

Potentially I'm also thinking of getting a new radio.

RpTheHotrod is offline Reply With Quote

If its a recommendation from someone you trust, sure.

I'd say look around and compare rates and brands. Obviously specialty stores for car audio would be your best bet for whole systems. Obviously customer reviews and consumer reports are handy as well (never take the salesman's word for it--they're trying to sell whatever they can to you.).

Essentially you want to be sure of its specs both performance wise (efficiency, heating, power it draws, its radio reception range, sophistication, simplicity or complexity of controls etc. etc. etc.) and its physical specs (Are you getting a standard size replacement or do you have to remodel the interior of your vehicle? What are its hookup requirements? etc.).

Speakers you want to consider their drive and power requirements, their housing, and their output quality regardless if you just want a new regular system or one of those torrential sound hurricanes. After-all, why get a new system if its speakers sound like complete and utter $***?